Johann Gungl

Tchaikovsky Research
Johann Gungl (1818-1883)

Johann Gungl (b. 15 October 1818 [N.S.] in Zsámbék; d. 23 November 1883 [N.S.] in Pécs), also known as János Gungl, was a Hungarian composer, conductor and violinist.

Johann was the nephew of the Hungarian composer, bandmaster and violinist Josef Gungl (1809-1889). At the age of seven he was enrolled in the cathedral choir in Pécs, and later played for several years in the orchestra of the Pécs Deutsches Theater. From 1843 he conducted concerts in Berlin, and from 1845 to 1848 he performed at light music concerts in Pavlovsk with his own orchestra. After the latter was disbanded he became a violinist in the Imperial Russian Court Orchestra, which he also directed for several months in 1862, before returning home to Pécs. Here he organized chamber music evenings, was involved in church music, and from 1874 to 1878 conducted the town orchestra.

His 126 published compositions mainly consist of galops, marches, mazurkas and polkas, of which the march Vorwärts (Op. 6) was his most famous work [1].

Arrangements by Tchaikovsky

Around 1864, Tchaikovsky made an orchestral arrangement of another of Gungl's marches: Le retour (1854), which had originally been published in a version for solo piano. Only part of Tchaikovsky's orchestration has survived.

External Links

Notes and References

  1. Stanley Goscombe, Gung'l, Josef, Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. Oxford University Press (accessed 31 October 2013).