Letter 440

Tchaikovsky Research
Date 23 January/4 February 1876
Addressed to Nikolay Bernard
Where written Saint Petersburg
Language Russian
Autograph Location Saint Petersburg, State Academic Mariinsky Theatre, Central Music Library (VII.2.4.154)
Publication П. И. Чайковский. Его жизнь и творчество (1922), p. 162
П. И. Чайковский. Полное собрание сочинений, том VI (1961), p. 19

Text and Translation

Russian text
English translation
By Brett Langston
23 янв[аря] 1876

Многоуважаемый Николай Матвеевич!

Я хотел сегодня лично просить Вас об одном одолжении, но мне совестно, и поэтому обращаюсь к Вам письменно. Мне очень нужно 200 р[ублей] сер[ебром], без которых я никак не могу выбраться отсюда. Если б Вы могли мне их дать в счёт гонорария за следующие пиэсы, то я очень был бы Вам обязан и благодарен; пиэсы мои не заставят себя долго ждать, и вообще Вы вполне можете рассчитывать на мою аккуратность. Потрудитесь ответить мне так или иначе завтра утром по тому же адресу (Канонерская, № 2). Если меня Ваш посланный не застанет, то расписку даст мой отец или мачеха. Пожалуйста, извините мою назойливость.

Ваш, П. Чайковский

Saint Petersburg
23 January 1876

Most respected Nikolay Matveyevich!

I wanted to ask you a favour in person today, but I am embarrassed, and so appeal to you in writing. I am in great need of 200 silver rubles, without which I have no means of leaving here. If you could give me the fee for the next pieces [1] on account, then I should be most obliged and grateful to you; you will not have long to wait for my pieces, and in general you can wholly rely on my punctuality. Be so kind as to reply to me one way or the other at the same address (Kanonerskaya, No. 2). If your messenger does not catch me, then either my father or stepmother will give a receipt. Please, excuse my importunity.

Yours, P. Tchaikovsky

Notes and References

  1. Nikolay Bernard had commissioned Tchaikovsky to write a series of piano pieces for his monthly journal Nuvellist. These would eventually be published together under the title The Seasons.