Little-Russian Kazachok (Dargomyzhsky)

The Little-Russian Kazachok (Малороссийский казачок), was an arrangement for solo piano by Tchaikovsky (TH 174 ; ČW 407) [1] of the orchestral fantasia Kazachok by Aleksandr Dargomyzhsky (1813-1869).


Scored for solo piano (2 hands).

Movements and Duration

There is one movement: Allegro (C minor)—Andante (C major) (271 bars), lasting around 6 minutes in performance.


No information has survived regarding Tchaikovsky's work on this arrangement. It may have been carried out at the request of friends — most likely the Shilovskys, who were related to Dargomyzhsky and often visited him [2].


Tchaikovsky's arrangement was published by Pyotr Jurgenson in 1868, and it was included in volume 60 of Tchaikovsky's Complete Collected Works (1971), edited by Georgy Kirkor.


The manuscript score of Tchaikovsky's arrangement is now preserved in the Russian National Museum of Music in Moscow (ф. 88, No. 166 [view]).


See: Little-Russian Kazachok (Dargomyzhsky): Recordings

Related Works

Dargomyzhsky's orchestral fantasia Kazachok ('Cossack Dance') was completed in 1864, and first published by M. Bernard in Saint Petersburg in 1868. The change of title to Little-Russian Kazachok in Tchaikovsky's piano version emphasises the Ukrainian nature of the themes, with "Little Russia" being an old term for the Ukraine (as in Tchaikovsky's "Little Russian" symphony).

External Links

Notes and References