Yuly Konyus

Tchaikovsky Research
Yuly Konyus (1869-1942)

Russian violinist, composer, and teacher (b. 19 January/1 February 1869 in Moscow; d. 3 January 1942 in Melenky, near Vladimir), born Yuly Eduardovich Konyus (Юлий Эдуардович Конюс); also known outside Russia as Jules Conus.

The second son of the piano teacher and music teacher Eduard Konstantinovich Konyus (1827–1902), and brother to Georgy Konyus and Lev Konyus, Yuly studied composition under Sergey Taneyev at the Moscow Conservatory, graduating in 1888. He then studied in Paris, where he played the violin in Édouard Colonne's orchestra. From 1893 until 1901, he taught violin classes at the Moscow Conservatory, and he also advised Tchaikovsky on matters of violin technique in his Symphony No. 6 (1893), while his brother Lev assisted Tchaikovsky with the piano arrangement of the symphony.

Following the revolution, Konyus left Russia for Paris in 1919, where he taught at the city's Russian Conservatory, but returned to his homeland in 1939.

Correspondence with Tchaikovsky

13 letters have survived from Tchaikovsky to Yuly Konyus, dating from 1891 to 1893, of which those highlighted in bold have been translated into English on this website:

16 letters from Yuly Konyus to Tchaikovsky, dating from 1889 to 1893, are preserved in the Tchaikovsky State Memorial Musical Museum-Reserve at Klin (a4, Nos. 1750–1765).


External Links